Who'll replace Alannah?

May 08, 2016 Taylah Hanna
Perth nightlife, photo by K.Davies
Hay St Mall. Pic by K.Davies
Sitting Member:
Mactiernan, A (ALP)
Size of electorate:
80 sq. Km

Redistribution details:

There have been some minor boundary changes. In the north east the boundary has extended to Reid Highway and Lord Street. In the north west it has extended to Alexander Drive between Walcott Street and Reid Highway, but some of the elctorate has been lost north of Walcott Street and west of Alexander Drive. Its western boundary has retreated east from Mitchell Freeway/Thomas Road to Charles Street (up to Walcott Street) and the Kwinana Freeway. The southern boundary remains the Swan River.

Sitting Member

Alannah MacTiernan is the Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Western Australia, Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Regional Development and Infrastructure. She has served in both the Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council of the Western Australian parliament.

Key Comments

Perth is an inner metropolitan electorate consisting of well-established built up suburbs. Construction issues have affected roads in the CBD, specifically on Wellington Street where Yagan Square isn't set to be completed until mid-2017. Over recent years there has been a lot of residential development on the outskirts of the CBD mostly in the form of apartment blocks.

Electorate Profile

Perth is WA’s most inner metro electorate. It contains the bustling CBD with its sky scrapers and riverfront parkland. It’s also got cool little well-established suburbs with a mix of quaint historic houses and flashy new apartments.

It is also home to the central hubs of WA’s medical, education, retail, recreation, light industrial, commercial, tourism, transport, hospitality and business districts.

Created in 1901, Perth is one of the original 75 electoral divisions contested at the very first Federal Election. It is named after the City of Perth, founded under Lieutenant-Governor James Stirling in 1829.

Population growth on the edge of Perth has been huge, resulting in the re-drawing of WA electoral boundaries. The emergence of new electorates saw Perth gain West Perth and parts of Leederville from Curtin, but it lost Dianella to Stirling, and Beechboro to Cowan.

The Perth electorate covers the suburbs of Ashfield, Bassendean, Bayswater, Bedford, Coolbinia, Dianella, Dianella Heights, East Perth, Eden Hill, Embleton, Highgate, Inglewood, Kings Park, Leederville, Maylands, Menora, Morley, Mt Hawthorn, Mt Lawley, Noranda, North Perth, Northbridge, Osborne Park, Perth, West Perth.

In the heart of the Perth CBD a host of new projects are under construction with funding predominantly coming from the state government with some contributions from local and federal governments. The new stuff on the block includes Elizabeth Quay, a new library, and the $73.5 million Yagan Square.

Located on the north river front of Perth, the first section of Elizabeth Quay opened on January 29, 2016. The Quay is scheduled to be completed in 2018. The $2.6 billion project was state funded and according to WA Planning Minister John Day, the Barnett Government will make back $170 million back in land sales. Elizabeth Quay will have 39,000sqm of retail space, 1700 apartments and 150,000 sqm of office space, with the most distinctive structure being a piazza with a water playground and artificial inlet that have both been plagued with water quality problems since the Quay opened in January.

The Perth Library located on Hay Street, opened on March 1, 2016 despite concerns about the state Government’s planned $1.7 million cuts to library service funding. Covering 3500sqm, various resources are available to the public over seven levels, including computers, eBooks, free Wi-Fi, meeting rooms, study spaces, an open terrace, auditorium and cafe.

Previous electorate representatives have been predominately from one party, with Labor winning the Perth seat for the previous four elections. From 1993 to 2013, it was held by Stephen Smith and since 2013 it has been Alannah MacTiernan’s. In the last election were Labor won 41% of the vote; Liberal 39%; The Greens 10.6%; and the Palmer United Party 3.5%. Meaning that Labor won it with the help of Greens preferences.

MacTiernan was first elected to WA Parliament as a Member of the Upper House for the East Metro Region in 1993, in 1996 she won a state Lower House seat as member for Armadale. She was Minister for Planning and Infrastructure through two terms of the WA Labor Government, and was responsible for building the Mandurah railway.

She resigned from State Parliament to contest Canning in the 2010 Federal election, while approval for her saw Canning swing towards Labor, against the trend elsewhere in WA, she didn’t win the seat. In October 2011 MacTiernan was elected as Mayor of the inner-Perth City of Vincent, and in 2013 she won the federal seat of Perth.

Her long run is almost over, however, as she has recently announced that she will be retiring from politics after this election. Labor’s new candidate is lawyer Tim Hammond.

Darryl Moore joined the Liberal Party in Western Australia in 2010. He claims he was frustrated at the incompetence of the Federal Labor Government at the time. He has been endorsed as the Liberal candidate for the Perth.

Jonathan Hallet, from the Greens WA, was the candidate for Perth at the 2010 Federal election and for the State seat of Perth in WA’s 2013 state election. Hallet is also a lecturer and research fellow at Curtin University’s School of Public Health and he is Deputy Chairperson of the WA AIDS Council.

The Perth electorate will be important in the federal election because a swing in Labor’s favor will be seen as a good sign for Labor’s chances in the 2017 state election, while a swing towards the Greens will fit the pattern of CBD electorates being the ones showing most potential for the party.

2013 Election Results

Candidate Party Votes % Swing(%)
CONNELLY, Paul Michael Australian Christians 1891 2.28 +2.28
CLARK, Ant Independent 1025 1.24 +1.24
MacTIERNAN, AlannahElected Australian Labor Party 34215 41.25 +1.06
HALLETT, Jonathan The Greens (WA) 8801 10.61 -5.54
EDNEY, Evelyn Patricia Rise Up Australia Party 422 0.51 +0.51
CROLL, Lesley Family First Party 669 0.81 -0.74
HARFOUCHE, Gabriel Hasib Palmer United Party 2897 3.49 +3.49
MOORE, Darryl Liberal 33021 39.81 +1.07
...... Christian Democratic Party (Fred Nile Group) 0 0 -2.61
...... Socialist Alliance 0 0 -0.77


Taylah Hanna

Perth is brought to you by Edith Cowan University

Candidates for Perth

News for Perth