An ALP stronghold in Melbourne's north

May 18, 2016 Marie Trevithick, Taylor Saunders
The Austin Hospital (Photo: Taylor Saunders)
Sitting Member:
Macklin, J (ALP)
Size of electorate:
128 sq. Km

Sitting Member

Incumbent has held seat since 1996.

Key Comments

A traditionally safe Labor seat, however the incumbent suffered an eight point swing toward the LNP in 2013. Jagajaga is a commercial and light industrial area, which also includes the Simpson Army Barracks and the Austin Hospital.

Electorate Profile

For a full list of candidates please see 'election at a glance' and use the electorate search tool or click Jagajaga.

Jagajaga boasts a diverse blend of scenic walking paths alongside the bustle of shopping centres and a familiar feel of historic architecture.

It is home to the Heidelberg School of Artists, the Simpson Army Barracks and three hospitals including the Mercy Hospital for Women, the Heidelberg Repatriation Hospital as well as the Austin Hospital. It’s a light industrial and commercial area that is predominately residential.

The electorate was created in 1984 as one of 24 new seats in the House of Representatives following the enlargement of Parliament, and replacing the abolished electorate of Diamond Valley.

From the outset the Labor party won the seat from the Liberal party and has retained it ever since. Jagajaga has only so far had two incumbents: Peter Staples and his successor, Jenny Macklin.

Of the seven elections that Jenny Macklin has been the candidate for, and subsequently won, five terms have been classified as being “marginal”, defined as having 56% or less of the two-party-preferred result.

Macklin often only just missed the mark of being “fairly-safe”, defined as being between 56% and 60%. But she has steadily increased her support since taking office in 1996 with 52.7%. From the 2010 federal election, Macklin was at her strongest with 61.5% - considered “safe” as defined 60% and above.

This, however, did not carry through to the 2013 election where she suffered -8% swing towards Liberal candidate, Nick McGowan. The result was that Macklin won but the electorate returned to marginal status.

Many other Labor MPs across Australia received the -8% blow, suggesting the negative swing was on a federal scale rather than at the local level. Since then however, Labor’s leadership under Bill Shorten has remained steady.

Jagajaga’s boundaries are significant as it encompasses four Victorian Parliamentary Districts (Legislative assembly), being Eltham, Bundoora, Yan Yean and Ivanhoe. All of whose MPs are also Labor party members. As well as consisting of two of the eight electoral regions which elect five members to the Victorian Legislative Council, being both the Eastern and Northern Metropolitan Regions.

Jagajaga’s namesake comes from the Aboriginal elders who signed a land deal with John Batman in 1835; the incumbent, Jenny Macklin, keeps a copy of this deed in her office.

Jenny Macklin has served as the MP for Jagajaga since 1996. During her incumbency, Macklin has had an extensive political career acting as Shadow Minister for Aged Care, Social Security, and the Status of Women under the Australian Labor Party. As well as Shadow Minister for Health, the Deputy Leader of the ALP, the Shadow Minister for Education, the Shadow Minister for Families and Community Services and the Shadow Minister for Indigenous Affairs and Reconciliation Macklin is currently the Shadow Minister for Families and Payments and Shadow Minister for Disability Reform.

David Mulholland is the Liberal candidate for Jagajaga. Mulholland is an Information Technology Consultant at a national audit and technology services company and has been involved in a voluntary role with VicRoads committees on the Chandler Highway Upgrade and North East Truck Curfew.

Mulholland’s social media is heavily focused on fighting to put a North-East Link on the agenda. Another interest of Mulholland’s is advocating for an Ivanhoe Secondary School (Public). His method of campaign delivery is mainly by appearances and some "listening" in public spaces. 

2013 Election Results

Candidate Party Votes % Swing(%)
WALLIS, Nicholas Sex Party 2565 2.8 +2.80
EADIE, Tahlia Family First Party 1490 1.63 -0.86
MACKLIN, JennyElected Australian Labor Party 34813 38 -9
SNAPE, Kitten Leigh Palmer United Party 2452 2.68 +2.68
KEARNEY, Chris The Greens 11863 12.95 -1.92
McGOWAN, Nick Liberal 38422 41.94 +7.01
...... Liberal Democratic Party 0 0 -0.07
...... Secular Party of Australia 0 0 -0.64


Marie Trevithick



Taylor Saunders



Jagajaga is brought to you by La Trobe University

Candidates for Jagajaga

News for Jagajaga