Who we are


UniPollWatch is a world first. It is the biggest university student journalism project ever undertaken in Australia. The journalism schools at 28 universities have united to cover the 2016 federal election. We are reporting on every House of Representatives electorate, as well as most of the candidates and many of the important policies and local issues. We hope you find fresh perspectives and new voices which help you to make better sense of the things that matter in the lead-up to this national election.

Why?

We want to offer insights into the issues through the eyes of young Australians, many of whom are voting for the first time in this election. We believe the best way to learn the skills of journalism is through practice, so this is also a place to develop and hone the craft of reporting. Journalism schools should be relevant and useful and should work for the public's benefit by sharing their work with general audiences. In turn, this connection with the audience enriches the learning experience.

History

UniPollWatch was piloted in 2014 when four universities - Swinburne, Melbourne, LaTrobe and RMIT - cooperated to cover the 2014 Victorian state election.

. UniPollWatch is now published by the Journalism Education and Research Association of Australia.

Editor in Chief

Andrew Dodd

Swinburne University

adodd@swin.edu.au
@andrewcdodd

Deputy Editor in Chief

Kayt Davies

Edith Cowan University

k.davies@ecu.edu.au

ACT Territory Editor

Matthew Ricketson

University of Canberra

Matthew.Ricketson@canberra.edu.au

Queensland State Editor

Peter English

University of the Sunshine Coast

penglish@usc.edu.au

Queensland State Editor

Maxine Newlands

James Cook University

maxine.newlands@jcu.edu.au

N.S.W State Editor

Christopher Kremmer

University of NSW

c.kremmer@unsw.edu.au

N.S.W State Editor

Margaret Van Heekeren

Charles Sturt University

mvanheekeren@csu.edu.au

South Australia State Editor

Collette Snowden

University of South Australia

Collette.Snowden@unisa.edu.au

Tasmania State Editor

Donald Reid

University of Tasmania

Donald.Reid@utas.edu.au

Victoria State Editor

Johan Lidberg

Monash University

Johan.Lidberg@monash.edu

Victoria State Editor

Hugh Martin

La Trobe University

hugh.martin@latrobe.edu.au

Western Australia State Editor

Kayt Davies

Edith Cowan University

k.davies@ecu.edu.au

Australian Capital Territory

University of Canberra

New South Wales

Charles Sturt University

Margaret Van Heekeren
mvanheekeren@csu.edu.au

University of Technology Sydney

University of NSW

Christopher Kremmer
c.kremmer@unsw.edu.au

Southern Cross University

University of Sydney

Western Sydney University

University of Newcastle

Queensland

James Cook University

Griffith University

Faith Valencia-Forrester
f.valencia@griffith.edu.au

Bond University

Caroline Graham
cgraham@bond.edu.au
Roger Patching
rpatchin@bond.edu.au

University of Queensland

University of Southern Queensland

Dianne Jones
jonesd@usq.edu.au

University of the Sunshine Coast

South Australia

University of SA

University of Adelaide

Tasmania

University of Tasmania

Victoria

Deakin University

University of Melbourne

La Trobe University

RMIT

Monash University

Swinburne University

Western Australia

Edith Cowan University

Curtin University

Murdoch University

University of Notre Dame

University of WA